Patience and kindness

Holy blog necro, Batman! It certainly has been a while, and how things have changed.

My heart aches for Eni who’s far away, I’m living and working in London again, and – wouldn’t you know it? – I have not in the interim done well in taking myself less seriously. 😦

This year I’ve made some real resolutions. You could even say I’m repenting of my cynical ways. 😀 2016 is the year of patience and kindness.

Once again (again again) I’m nursing sore joints from reckless boy behaviour in the gym. Maybe this is the year I’ll put aside childish things. I won’t promise myself not to do it again, but I will promise to enjoy the process of getting into better shape. All the dysfunction that took years to build will no doubt take years to correct, and that’s okay – patience. It’s also been made worse in the past by me being so harsh on myself. Yes there are people who made better use of their time and now they can do backflips and stuff. Brilliant. But life is hard Stuart and we all mess up. Have some chill. Have some kindness.

I’m in a new job that for many a dark month in 2015 I thought I would never see. It was hard for everyone around me. Guess what I got from others that pulled me out of the pit? Patience and kindness. Now I have to apply those to my work. I had to be patient when my first project didn’t get off the ground and I was pretty much benched for three months. And I have to be kind to myself every day, because I can’t undo the life choices that would have otherwise got me further in my career at the positively senile age of 26 😉

My flatmates are thoroughly good people, even if they forget to empty the bin or leave stuff in the sink. They’ve been generous with their time to make me feel welcome in a city I’d mostly forgotten and where almost no one knows my name. The only reason they don’t loathe me is because I’ve managed to be just patient and kind enough to see past most little mistakes that were never meant to hurt. I still have work to do, and that’s okay.

I wish you a wonderful 2016.

Author: Stuart Hughes

Twenty-something from the hills and vales of Wales, grappling with the logistics of becoming a little more cosmopolitan.

Leave a Reply

